The Claiming Rule Teams has confused a lot of MotoGP fans and left a lot of them searching for information. CRT stands for Claiming Rule Team, and is a new category of entry in MotoGP. These teams will participate along the regular factory and satellite MotoGP bikes (now officially classified as “factory prototypes” regardless of whether they are being run in a factory team or a satellite team), and be subject to slightly different rules.¬†With the return to the liter class and looking at the heavy budgets involved in participating in a MotoGP without CRT MotoGP would have fallen to twelve bikes on track, four Yamaha, Honda and Ducati, CRT adds 10 more to that list.

Here is a look at the tentative list of riders for the MotoGP 2012:

Factory teams

Ducati MotoGP – Valentino Rossi / Hayden

Pramac Ducati – Hector Barbera

Ducati Kardion AB – Karel Abraham

Repsol Honda – Casey Stoner / Dani Pedrosa

Honda Gresini – Alvaro Bautista

LCR Honda – Stefan Bradl

Yamaha Racing – Jorge Lorenzo / Ben Spies

Yamaha Tech 3 – Andrea Dovizioso / Cal Crutchlow

CRT Teams

PBM Racing – James Ellison (Honda )

Mapfre Aspar – Randy De Puniet / Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia )

Speedmaster – Anthony West (Aprilia )

NGM Forward Racing – Colin Edwards (BMW / Suter)

IODA Racing – Danilo Petrucci (BMW )

Laglisse РCarmelo Morales? (BMW / Suter)

Gresini – Michele Pirro (Honda / RDF)

BQR – Yonny Hernandez / John Silva (Kawasaki / RDF)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here