Honda India started its racing season-2018 with the first ever AVT Gold Cup Million Motorcycle ENDURANCE RACE which was held at Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT), Chennai, on February 24-25, 2018.

Honda 2Wheelers along with Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC) has brought forth the Endurance race motorsport to India. Endurance racing is a form of motorsport racing, meant to test the durability and endurance of both the equipment and the rider. The race will be of 90 minutes duration, where all classes will be on the grid at the same time racing together. While each team has two riders, only one rider will be racing at a time. The second rider will replace the first as per the team’s strategy. Each rider entering the track during the race has to complete a minimum of 20 minutes before changing over to the other rider. The maximum time that a rider can ride continuously is 45 minutes.

The race was spread across the below mentioned categories:

  • (i) 4 Stroke Stock up to 165cc
  • (ii) 4 Stroke Pro Stock up to 165cc
  • (iii) 4 Stroke Pro Stock 300 – 400cc
  • (iv) Honda CBR250R

Elaborating on Honda’s promoting Endurance Race, Mr. Prabhu NagarajVice President, Customer Service, Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. Said: “This race has been extremely important for Honda2Wheeler India team. We wanted to reinforce our position in the upcoming racing season. This event has given us an opportunity to test the supremacy of both our machines and riders. We are confident that this exposure will facilitate our riders to be in top notch position and spearhead our position in motorsports in India.”

The top three finishers from each category were awarded & their victory was marked by a podium celebration, held after the race.

Honda CBR250R category winners

1st – Winner’s TrophyS Mathana Kumar & B Aravind
2nd– Runner-up TrophyKishor VS & Anthony Peter
3rd– Second Runner-up TrophySenthil Kumar C /AS Alexander

4 Stroke Pro Stock up to 165cc category winners

1st – Winner’s TrophyYashas RL & K Kannan
2nd– Runner-up TrophyA Amala Jerald & C Rajkumar
3rd– Second Runner-up TrophySarath Kumar & PK Mithun

AVT Gold Cup Million Motorcycle Endurance Race image gallery

Honda Ten10 Racing team swept the stage by emerging as overall winners & additionally won in two of the categories – 4 Stroke Pro Stock up to 165cc & Honda CBR250R. Overall winners S Mathana Kumar & B Aravind from the Honda Ten10 Racing team were additionally awarded Rs.50,000/- as start money.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here