Yesterday after topping both the free practice and the first qualifying session with a best lap of 1.49.842, in today’s QP2 the Czech rider Jakub Smrz shaved off almost another seven tenths of a second to hit the 1.48.517 mark and hold on to the provisional pole with all the action happening in the final 10 minutes when the Miller track finally dried out. Carlos Checa was second and the only other rider besides Smrz to dive under the 1.49 barrier. Marco Melandri was again third, followed by a fast Sylvain Guintoli who was a mere 0.070s from the BMW factory rider. Eugene Laverty grabbed fifth with Jonathan Rea in 6th, who was the last rider to be within a second from Smrz.

WSBK Miller QP2 results
  • 1. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’48.517
  • 2. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’48.789
  • 3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’49.009
  • 4. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’49.079
  • 5. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’49.175
  • 6. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’49.243
  • 7. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’49.531
  • 8. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’49.584
  • 9. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’49.634
  • 10. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’49.636
  • 11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’49.654
  • 12. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’49.968
  • 13. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’49.980
  • 14. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1’50.014
  • 15. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1’50.031
  • 16. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’50.280
  • 17. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’50.424
  • 18. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’50.427
  • 19. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’50.504
  • 20. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’50.520
  • 21. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’50.963
  • 22. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’51.843
  • 23. Jake Holden (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1’52.108
  • 24. Shane Turpin (Boulder Motor Sports) Ducati 1098R 1’54.399


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here