This first qualifying session at Monza was a repeat of this morning, with BMW dominating  with four riders in the top five. Taking the provisional pole was Michel Fabrizio on his satellite machine who pipped factory rider Marco Melandri by a mere 0.053s in one of his last flying laps, but he also posted a top speed of 334.8km/h which equalled Max Biaggi’s last year’s record speed.

Third went to Leon Haslam, and the only rider to be able to stop the German procession was Aprilia’s Eugene Laverty, who put Fabrizio’s team mate Ayrton Badovini in fifth, albeit by just one tenth of a second. Tom Sykes was 6th ahead of Max Biaggi and Chaz Davies. Carlos Checa managed to jump into the top ten with his 9th spot, but he was one second from Fabrizio and was followed by Althea team mate Davide Giugliano.

Completing the provisional top 16 was Jonathan Rea, John Hopkins who suffered two technical problems, his team mate Leon Camier, David Salom and Effenbert Liberty Ducati duo Sylvain Guintoli e Jakub Smrz who suffered a crash at the Lesmo turn. Leandro Mercado also suffered a crash but his was at the Roggia, while World Superbike and Kawasaki newbie Sergio Gadea had technical problems and could only put in six laps and was six seconds from the top of the time sheets.

WSBK Monza QP1 results
  • 1. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’42.327
  • 2. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’42.380
  • 3. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’42.523
  • 4. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’42.625
  • 5. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’42.690
  • 6. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’42.794
  • 7. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’42.844
  • 8. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’43.228
  • 9. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’43.393
  • 10. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’43.408
  • 11. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’43.410
  • 12. John Hopkins (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’43.576
  • 13. Leon Camier (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’43.837
  • 14. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’43.943
  • 15. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’44.042
  • 16. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’44.057
  • 17. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1’44.203
  • 18. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1’44.321
  • 19. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’44.489
  • 20. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’44.686
  • 21. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’45.156
  • 22. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1’45.841
  • 23. Sergio Gadea (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’48.085


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here