Jonathan Rea and Carlos Checa scored a win apiece at Assen today, in races held in dry and occasionally sunny conditions at this classic Dutch track. Rea was particularly happy to see his first victory arrive at  his  team’s home circuit, after some tough times early in the season.

Jonathan Rea – “First and foremost I’m proud to give Castrol Honda their first podium in the world championship this year. My crew worked really hard all weekend and we really made the right decision to develop a specific bike for the race because it paid off. I lead from the start, was wondering whether to let Max pass, but made the right decision and won the race.”

Race 1 Results

1. Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) – Honda CBR1000RR 35’46.486
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’47.225
3. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 35’50.058
4. Marco Melandri (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 35’55.994
5. Michel Fabrizio (Team Suzuki Alstare) Suzuki GSX-R1000 35’56.378
6. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 35’57.606
7. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 36’01.721
8. Ruben Xaus (Castrol Honda) ƒHonda CBR1000RR 36’16.567
9. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36’18.557
10. Mark Aitchison (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’21.486
11. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’29.773
12. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 36’31.775
13. Barry Veneman (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36’31.784
14. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’37.250
RT. Jakub Smrz (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 29’26.185
RT. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 29’26.621
RT. Leon Camier(Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 28’48.258
RT. Maxime Berger (Supersonic Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 16’56.882
RT. Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 13’28.961
RT. Noriyuki Haga (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 10’50.393
RT. Roberto Rolfo (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 5’04.247

Carlos Checa – “It’s a fantastic result, the win was amazing. I put a soft tire in for the second to get that that extra grip and at the end the tire was good and responsive, this was the question mark. I was trying to put some gap between me and Max, but he was strong. I made a mistake and he passed me but then I overtook him again for the win.”

Race 2 Results
1. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 35’38.693
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’39.217
3. Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 35’42.277
4. Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’44.606
5. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 35’55.609
6. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 35’56.068
7. Michel Fabrizio (Team Suzuki Alstare) Suzuki GSX-R1000 35’56.433
8. Noriyuki Haga (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 35’57.022
9. Jakub Smrz (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 35’57.071
10. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 35’57.097
11. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’04.977
12. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’05.746
13. Maxime Berger (Supersonic Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 36’17.307
14. Ruben Xaus (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 36’19.517
15. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36’19.646
16. Roberto Rolfo (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’19.675
17. Barry Veneman (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 36’24.116
18. Mark Aitchison (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 36’45.657
RT. Marco Melandri (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 25’56.759
RT. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 11’29.069

Championship Table after Round 03
1. Carlos Checa Althea Ducati 132
2. Max Biaggi Aprilia Alitalia 89
3. Marco Melandri Yamaha SBK 85
4. Jonathan Rea Castrol Honda 79
5. Leon Haslam BMW Motorrad 68
6. Leon Camier Aprilia Alitalia 50
7. Jakub Smrz Effenbert-Liberty Ducati 49
8. Michel Fabrizio Suzuki Alstare 47
9. Eugene Laverty Yamaha SBK 35
10. Noriyuki Haga PATA Aprilia 34
11. Joan Lascorz Kawasaki Racing 26
12. Troy Corser BMW Motorrad 26
13. Tom Sykes Kawasaki RTS 26
14. Ruben Xaus Castrol Honda 26
15. Ayrton Badovini BMW Italia 20
16. Sylvain Guintoli Effenbert-Liberty Ducati 16
17. Roberto Rolfo Pedercini Kawasaki 12
18. Mark Aitchison Pedercini Kawasaki 7
19. Maxime Berger Supersonic Ducati 3
20. Barry Veneman BMW Italia 3
21. Josh Waters Yoshimura Suzuki 3
22. James Toseland BMW Italia 2
23. Bryan Staring Pedercini Kawasaki 1

Manufacturer Standings after Round 03
1. Ducati 136
2. Aprilia 106
3. Yamaha 97
4. Honda 79
5. BMW 74
6. Suzuki 47
7. Kawasaki 43


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here