Home Motorsports Motorsport News WSBK Laguna Seca Race 2 summary

WSBK Laguna Seca Race 2 summary

The winds of fortune turned direction during the second race of the Laguna Seca round of the WSBK, blowing heavily on Jonathan Rea’s title rivals and propelling them forward into contention. The race had to be restarted after Pawel Szkopek caused a red flag after crashing at turn six. Once the race was restarted, Rea got ahead of Sykes and Giugliano at the corkscrew on lap four but ran wide later and damaged his ZX-10R, causing him to retire soon after.

Sykes duelled with the Ducati pair of Davies and Giugliano, and they harried him until the very last lap. However, Sykes got the better of them and rode to victory. Rea’s retirement and Sykes’ victory means that Rea’s lead has been pared down significantly to 46 points which is a comfortable margin but not insurmountable for the likes of Sykes.

Tom Sykes WSBK Laguna Seca

Xavi Fores picked up 4th followed by Nicky Hayden in fifth. The Pata Yamaha riders were involved in a last corner dust-up which left them finishing much further back than they could have. Rea’s retirement did promote everyone up a place. Sykes is riding high on the momentum of a win, while Rea will be looking to re-establish his dominance. This championship is far from decided.

WSBK Laguna Seca Race 2 results are as follows –

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +0.819s
2. Davide Giugliano ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +0.209s
3. Chaz Davies GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +0.786s
4. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +11.379s
5. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR +12.219s
6. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +12.465s
7. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR +13.705s
8. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 +20.449s
9. Anthony West FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +29.153s
10. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +33.013s
11. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR +39.910s
12. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +40.059s
13. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +49.211s
14. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +51.347s
15. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +54.783s
16. Peter Sebestyen POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +1m 03.249s
17. Gianluca Vizziello RSA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1m 25.191s
Did not finish
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 5 laps completed
Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 2 laps completed
Did not start (after initial race)
Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1
Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4
Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR
Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR