Home Motorsports Motorsport News WSBK Laguna Seca Race 1 summary

WSBK Laguna Seca Race 1 summary

After Tom Sykes captured his seventh pole of the season ahead of Jonathan Rea for race 1 at Laguna Seca, he had once again underlined his superb pace throughout the season. Race day saw Ducati’s Chaz Davies, Sykes and Rea battle it out for the lead before Davies crashed out of contention on lap 6. Rea ran wide at the corkscrew about halfway during the race and Sykes took over the lead. Not a man to give up, Rea put in a series of fast laps and reeled Sykes in before passing him with 6 laps to go and then continuing onward to victory.

Nicky Hayden earned a hard fought third place on home soil at Laguna, after fending off team-mate Michael van der Mark who made a last corner lunge to try and take third place. Alex Lowes too had a good race and was in contention for third but had to eventually settle for fifth place ahead of Lorenzo Savadori.

Rea has a hand and a few fingers on the 2016 title now that he currently leads Sykes by 71 points. Rea has displayed a remarkable ability to convert front row starts to race wins this season, while Sykes has been unable to match Rea’s race pace in the long haul. Consistency has been elusive for the likes of Davies and other who have the pace to challenge for the title. The way things are going, it doesn’t look like anyone can match Jonathan Rea.

Jonathan Rea WSBK Laguna Seca

WSBK Laguna Seca Race 1 results below –

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 25 laps
2. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +0.819s
3. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR +12.296s
4. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR +13.067s
5. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +13.335s
6. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +13.816s
7. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +15.541s
8. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +15.838s
9. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +19.999s
10. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 +22.832s
11. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +24.065s
12. Anthony West FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +28.902s
13. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +39.957s
14. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +46.552s
15. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +55.791s
16. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +59.021s
17. Peter Sebestyen POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +1 lap
18. Pawal Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +1 lap

Did not finish

Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 16 laps completed
Gianluca Vizziello RSA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 16 laps completed
Davide Giugliano ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R 12 laps completed
Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR 12 laps completed
Chaz Davies GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R 4 laps completed