Home Motorsports Motorsport News 2016 WSBK Misano Race 1 results

2016 WSBK Misano Race 1 results

The Kawasaki duo of Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea looked to be upfront in the race after qualifying 1-2 with Sykes setting a new circuit record to grab pole. Sykes looked to get away from the front and Rea looked to end a long winless streak at the WSBK Race 1 at Misano.

The Kawasaki riders started well and got ahead on lap 1. Chaz Davies was forced to run off track on lap 2 to avoid Lorenzo Savadori. Davide Giugliano crashed on the second lap from third and Nicky Hayden endured a rare crash to fall from fourth place which resulted in Van Der Mark being promoted to third.

Both Kawasaki riders fought hard to try and take victory, with Sykes shadowing Rea for most of the race just a few tenths behind. The pair left Van Der Mark behind and took off into the distance, setting new records on the way. Rea proved the better man, controlling the pace to his advantage. He slowed down to disrupt Sykes’ rhythm and sped up as it suited him. Sykes attempted to pass on the last lap but Rea defended his position well in the final sector to deny Sykes a sniff at victory. The finish was a rather close 0.009 seconds, the eighth closest in WSBK history. Rea is back on top again in style.

Jonathan Rea WSBK

WSBK Misano Race 1 results

1. Jonathan Rea- GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 21 laps
2. Tom Sykes- GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +0.090
3. Michael van der Mark- NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR +3.093
4. Chaz Davies- GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +5.878s
5. Jordi Torres- ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +15.955s
6. Markus Reiterberger- GER Althea BMW S1000RR +18.200s
7. Niccolò Canepa- ITA PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +19.385s
8. Leon Camier- GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +19.918s
9. Roman Ramos- ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +26.272s
10. Anthony West- AUS Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +32.593s
11. Josh Brookes- AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +36.825s
12. Alex de Angelis- RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +37.084s
13. Alex Lowes- GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +38.181s
14. Davide Giugliano- ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +41.201s
15. Pawel Szkopek- POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +80.992s
16. Peter Sebesteyen- HUN Team Toth Yamaha R1 +81.783s
17. Dominic Schmitter- SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +84.623s
18. Fabio Menghi- ITA VFT Ducati 1199R +85.068s
19. Saeed al Sulaiti- QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +91.041s
20. Gianluca Vizziello- ITA Kawasaki ZX-10R +1 lap
Did not finish
Xavi Fores- ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 4 laps
Karel Abraham- CZE Althea BMW S1000RR 12 laps
Lorenzo Savadori- ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 20 laps
Nicky Hayden- USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR 21 laps