Defending champions Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team announced their four rider squad for PanAfrica Rally 2019 today. Winner of the previous edition, Michael Metge (France) will lead Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team’s bid for a second consecutive win at the prestigious event. Michael will be accompanied by Lorenzo Santolino from Spain, Johnny Aubert from France, and Abdul Wahid Tanveer from India.

Johnny Aubert will make his debut with Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team at the PanAfrica Rally. He has finished the Dakar rally at the commendable 6th position in 2018. The PanAfrica Rally is an open competition of Motorbikes, Quads / UTV, SSV (buggies) and will take place in Morocco between 21st and 28th September, 2019.

Commenting on the team announcement, Mr. B Selvaraj, Team Manager, TVS Racing, said, “The Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team has been performing consistently well at the PanAfrica Rally and we aim to continue our successful performances again this year. The team of seasoned Rally racers will be ably led by defending champion of PanAfrica and winner of Baja Aragon Rally 2019, Michael Metge. This year’s team constitutes for an action packed Rally by the addition of Johnny, Lorenzo, and Tanveer. We are confident of pulling off a great show this year as well.” 

Michael Metge, Racer, Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team said “The PanAfrica Rally is one of the toughest and most grueling international Rally. We had a great outing last year and I am personally humbled by the title. I have been training religiously, with a good season thus far. I am looking forward to defending my title as well as the team’s. We’re all in a good shape and excited to put up a good show.” 

The Rally is organised in the high dunes of the Sahara Desert, where the soaring temperatures is one of the several harsh conditions that the racers will have to battle. The Rally is seen as a learning ground for the teams and racers as they gear up for Dakar Rally in January next year.

About the Racers

  • Michael Metge is participating second time in PanAfrica with Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team, and also became the second time consecutive winner of Baja Aragon victory by winning the 2019 edition. He is a super performer who also has proved his mettle in Dakar Rally, 7 consecutive times.
  • Lorenzo Santolino hailed with the title of Enduro World Champion in 2010, clocked third at the World E1 Championship, 2015 and won the Spanish Championship 7 times between Enduro and Xc.  Santolino became a part of Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team in 2018
  • Abdul Wahid Tanveer entered the record books in the PanAfrica Rally 2018 & Merzouga Rally 2019 and became the first Indian rider to win enduro class in an international Rally.  He also finished with a consistent second place at 2018 edition of Rally of Morocco. In the recent years, he has won Raid de Himalaya in 2017 and 2016 in Group A category and stood second in Desert Storm 2017. He is also the winner of Dakar Series India Baja 2017.
  • Johny Aubert is a French enduro rider is a two-time world champion and is a strong performer in Dakar Rally 2018. He has been racing since age four and has won more than 40 Enduro GP’s in his career.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here